about us badge


Summary of the PCC meeting held on 25th March 2019

  • Church has purchased a contactless card reader to trial taking contactless donations.
  • 2018 annual accounts were presented and approved.
  • Several policy documents have been updated and were presented for approval. These were expenses, health and safety, conflicts of interest and the employee handbook.
  • The list of people authorised to administer communion has been updated and was approved.
  • A newspaper article has suggested churches were being encouraged to use direct debits to improve fundraising; St. Mary’s policy on this was queried. It was stated that we used standing orders as they were under control of givers but not direct debit.
  • Jayne Thurston is retiring after ten years as Heartbeat Café manager. PCC recorded their thanks to Jayne Thurston for her service to the church.
  • A report from Outi Rankin’s project on welcome was presented. A team of 18 roaming greeters is being piloted at the 9.30 service. The initiative will also include provision of a welcome sign for the wall, team welcome badges, signpost to children’s groups, drinks station etc
  • The electoral roll as of 20/03/2019 stood at 279. The list is in the process of being updated. 


A summary of the Annual Parochial Church Meeting, including details of those elected.

  • 52 church members attended the APCM.
  • Matthew Holland and Anne Keast were elected as church wardens.
  • Matthew presented the church wardens’ report.
  • Brian Macfaden presented a summary of the 2018 accounts.
  • A safeguarding report, prepared by Maureen Cain (Parish Safeguarding Officer) was read out.
  • The electoral roll closed with 389 names.  The roll is now open again for additions.
  • The elections took place and the following were appointed:                       

Independent Examiner: Sue Suchoparek

Sidespersons: Margaret Baker, Jeremy Barnes, Charlotte Bristowe, Colin Cuthbert, Gladys Diggwa, Vic Dupuy, Margaret Durant, Claire Harvey, Martin Haywood, Peter Johnson, Georgina Jones, Gaynor Keatley, Dana Laidlar, Danielle Markland, Martyn Markland, Yorke Menzies, Rosie Morris, Marie O’Neil, Brenda Perry, Ray Stone, Helen Strong, Ian Thwaites, Rachelle Thwaites, Mariana Timmis, Alan Vincent and Valerie Vincent.     

Deputy Wardens: Jeremy Barnes, Andrew Campbell, Avtar Diggwa, Lorna Hitchin, Helen Jarvis, Jonathan Kay, David Kellett, Peter Langley, Jeff McBurney, Claire Nathan, Diane Plunkett, Barbara Shimmings, Helen Strong, Helen Wilson, Marion Yeomans and Tony Yeomans.

Parochial Church Council: 10 nominations were received for 12 places.  The following were elected: Dave Atkinson, Jeremy Barnes, Janet Darlow, Joan Heys, Lorna Hitchin, Helen Jarvis, Elaine Jones, Matthew Kay, Barbara Shimmings and Ian Thwaites. 

  • Ministry stations were set up around the hall and church members were given the opportunity to visit 4 stations to hear about the work in that area.
  • The vision for parenting, welcome and invitation and discipleship was shared. 

Jane Mottram

1a Next article

Go back